Water, why are you so boring?

I don’t know about you, but I get so bored drinking plain ol’ water. On average, it’s recommended that a woman should drink about 2.2 liters of beverages a day. Of course there are many factors that go into how much water you should be drinking a day, but regardless, it’s a lot of water – well, I feel like it is, since I hate drinking water, I am 100% a juice, soda and iced Starbucks beverages kind of girl, or I was. 
When I was introduced to essential oils a few years ago, I was always told that they weren’t safe to ingest. But then I was introduced to doTERRA, and I learnt that doTERRA’s essential oils are safe to ingest, and that there are many benefits to ingesting essential oils. 

Not only do essential oils add amazing flavour to your water but each oil has so many health benefits. It’s so nice not to have to cut up lemons or limes, or infuse my lavender in my water hours before I drink it – all you need is a single drop of your oil of choice for your water bottle!*

I am going to talk about just a few of the essential oils that I love adding to my water! Each of these oils have multiple uses and health benefits, but these are just some of the reasons why I love adding them to my water.

Peppermint: the first thing I love about drinking Peppermint water is how refreshing it is and it leaves you with minty fresh breath! Peppermint is a very energizing oil. I find myself enjoying a nice cool glass of Peppermint water instead of a coffee to give myself a boost of energy during the day (and with working part time, and having a 3.5 month old, I need all the boosts of energy that I can get!). Peppermint has a high content of Menthol, which gives Peppermint that cool and soothing feeling so drinking Peppermint water after a workout or a day out in the sun cools you internally, which is the best feeling!

Lemon: purifying and detoxifying, that’s what Lemon is known for, but did you know that Lemon also aids in digestion and supports healthy respiratory function? Lemon is such a delicious flavour to have in your water, so it makes me happy that it has so many health benefits as well! Taking Lemon internally will naturally cleanse your body as well as help with seasonal respiratory discomfort. 

Lime: another extremely tasty oil to add to your water, Lime is also known for its purifying properties, internal cleansing and immune system support. Adding Lime to your water provides antioxidant support. I find that Lime also gives a cooling internal relief when I have it in my water, another great one for on a hot summer day or post workout!  

Lavender: I have no idea what I would do without my Lavender oil, I use it for so many things, but one of its main uses for me is adding it to my water. I love the floral taste, and the relaxing and soothing properties of Lavender that I feel almost instantly is so nice. When I drink Lavender water, I feel so much more calm, relaxed and less stressed within seconds. I will usually drink a glass of Lavender water an hour before bed to help have a long and restful sleep. 

doTERRA’s On Guard: this amazing doTERRA blend helps to maintain healthy immune function and supports healthy cardiovascular function. When taken internally, this blend also supports respiratory function and the body’s natural antioxidant defenses. This is a great blend to drink, especially in those cold months to avoid getting sick! Also, I personally love the flavour, if Autumn had a flavour, this would be it. On Guard is a blend of Wild Orange, Clove, Cinnamon Bark, Eucalyptus and Rosemary essential oils.

Wild Orange: this is another oil that adds an amazing flavour to water, its citrus taste and aroma definitely brightens up my mood and gives me a boost of energy throughout the day when I drink it. On top of tasting amazing, Wild Orange supports healthy immune system function and promotes overall health. 

So those are just a few of my favourite essential oils to add to my water, what are some of your favourites? What are you hoping to try soon? I would love to hear about your experience with adding oils into your water! Feel free to leave a comment or email me with any questions you may have about essential oils in general, taking oils internally, doTERRA or how to get started with oils! 

xo Katie

*If you are putting essential oils in your water bottle to drink, you need to be using a glass or stainless steel water bottle. Pure essential oils pull the toxins out of plastic, so if you used a plastic cup or bottle, it would start deteriorating.

Leave a Reply

